A Roll Up Scroll Part 2


scribescribbling

I have completed the second sheet of the scroll.  In so doing I have had challenges both predicted and not predicted.  Line width was the most obvious one I saw coming as was problems with copying correctly and as for any calligrapher, letter forms.  One unexpected issue was mold in my iron gall ink.

Here is the sheet.

Sheet 2, recto side.  The verso for scrolls is the blank side. Sheet 2, recto side. The verso for scrolls is the blank side.

Take a look at that top line.  The left column looks correct compared to the regular X height of the sheet.  The left column top line on the other hand is definitely over sized.  In truth they both should be over sized as the line is definitely too big.  What happened?

Actually it is pretty predictable when you stop and think about it.  I hand pricked the line widths.  I did this without any mechanical or measuring aid.  I did…

View original post 905 more words

Comments are closed.