Making a Scroll


scribescribbling

Scribes of the Middle Ages were the authors and copy machines of their time.  Take all the documents that scribes wrote and we find that writing court documents, let alone Awards, Grants and Patents of arms was actually a pretty rare thing to be doing.  Scribes wrote books and scrolls.  And they spent a lot of time copying those books and scrolls.

The book is “The Deed of Paksenarrion,” by Elizabeth Moon.  It is comprised of three other books, “The Sheep Farmer’s Daughter,” “Divided Allegiance,” and “Oath of Gold.”  I have been reading these books over and over since I was 16 years old. The prologue of the compilation book, “The Deed of Paksenarrion,” tells us that the story we are reading is the scroll that was given to Paksenarrion’s father telling them of her adventures.

I decided to start copying my favorite books as a way to use my…

View original post 470 more words

Comments are closed.