Farming Tips from Ancient China


Or Interesting Things I Have Learned by Reading A Preliminary Survey of the Book Ch’i Min Yao Shu: An Agricultural Encyclopedia of the 6th Century

Somewhere in my search for information about what people ate in medieval China, I became aware of the existence of a book called Ch’i Min Yao Shu. The English translation varies, but it’s usually something like “Main Techniques for the Welfare of the People” or “Essential Ways of Living of the Common People.” Thus far I have been unable to find an English translation of the entire book, but I did find A Preliminary Survey of the Book Ch’i Min Yao Shu: An Agricultural Encyclopedia of the 6th Century. This text is a survey of the contents of the Ch’i Min Yao Shu in English, written in 1957 by Shih Sheng-han, a scholar from the Northwestern College of Agriculture.  A Preliminary Survey…covers the history and context of the Ch’i Min Yao Shu, and directly translates sections from the text.

You can read the rest of the article by clicking this link!

(Copy and paste did not preserve my footnotes, so I thought it’d be best to just link to the document.)

Comments are closed.