Period sugar paste – sweet dreams are made of this..


Period sugar. Interesting

Time traveling Órlaith

While I think of it – this is the recipe I am going to try next for sugar paste for more authentic period sugar craft subtleties.   This one is from The good Hus-wiues Iewell  (I love this bit –  Printed by E. Allde for Edward White, dwelling at the little North doore of Paules Church at the signe of the Gun, 1597.)    It suggests making cups and plates from it, which could be a very lovely project with flowers and fruits for another time, but next up  I have an idea to make a castle tower that I think might appeal to the boys.

To make a paste of Suger, whereof a man may make al manner of fruites, and other fine thinges with their forme, as Plates, Dishes, Cuppes, and such like thinges wherewith you may furnish a Table.

Take Gumme and dragant as much as you wil, and…

View original post 380 more words

Comments are closed.